The African Trilogy

things fall apart
no longer at ease
arrow of god

Chinua Achebe is widely considered the father of modern African literature. His seminal work, Things Fall Apart, is regarded as a masterpiece (which concurrently created global awareness for literature produced by African authors). This work alone has sold over 20 million copies since its debut in 1958. This work was followed up with two additional novels including No Longer at Ease and Arrow of God. These works are collectively known as the African Trilogy. These additional works collectively sold 15 million copies globally.

The Achebe family—his spouse, Christie Achebe, and children, Chinelo Achebe Ejueyitchie, Chidi Achebe and Nwando Achebe—has decided it is time to bring Things Fall Apart to the world in a different medium—television. A television series combines the visual appeal of film with the ability to tell stories over extended programming. This makes it possible to faithfully present The African Trilogy’s epic, multi-generational sweep on screen to global audiences for the first time.  The series will portray decades of wrenching societal change—from the end of the 19th century in Things Fall Apart, through the emerging 20th century in Arrow of God, and the mid-20th century pre-independence period in No Longer at Ease.

The Achebe family will work with a broad range of media professionals to develop Things Fall Apart, Arrow of God, and No Longer At Ease.

Scroll to Top